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Self-Service Center 
 

GUARDIANSHIP AND CONSERVATORSHIP 
 

GET A PERMANENT APPOINTMENT FOR A MINOR 
 

PART 1: PREPARING THE FIRST COURT PAPERS 
(INSTRUCTIONS) 

 
This packet contains court instructions on preparing the first court papers for permanent (longer than 6 
months) appointment of a guardian and conservator for a minor.  The documents should appear in the 
following order: 
 

 
Order 

 
File No. 

 
Title 

 
# 

pages 
 

1 
 
PBGCM1it 

 
INDEX (this page) 

 
1 

2 
 
PBGCM11i 

 
INSTRUCTIONS: How to Complete the Forms 4 

 
3 PBGCM10p PROCEDURES: What to do after Completing the Forms 5 

4 PB13h Helpful Information: Special Handling for Confidential Documents 1 

5 PBGC20h Helpful Information: Providing Legal Notice in Matters of  
Guardianship and/or Conservatorship* 

4 

6 PBT10i IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 1 
   

*See the #2 “SERVICE” packet for forms and detailed instructions. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The documents you have received are copyrighted by the Superior Court of Arizona in Maricopa 

County.  You have permission to use them for any lawful purpose.  These forms shall not be 
used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law.  The Court assumes no responsibility and 
accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, including reliance on their 
contents.   The documents are under continual revision and are current only for the day they 

were received. It is strongly recommended that you verify on a regular basis that you have the 
most current documents. 
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Self-Service Center 
 

INSTRUCTIONS: HOW TO COMPLETE THE FORMS TO ASK THE COURT FOR 
PERMANENT (LONGER THAN 6 MONTHS) APPOINTMENT OF A 

GUARDIAN AND CONSERVATOR FOR A MINOR 
 

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING:     
 
 FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENT:  Arizona law requires that any person asking to be 

appointed guardian of a minor to whom he / she is not related must submit a fingerprint card 
to the court. 

 
• The card will be submitted to the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS) and to the FBI for 

use in conducting a criminal record check to help the Court determine that person's suitability to act 
as a guardian of a minor.  

• If the guardian is unrelated to the ward, due to the time required for the record check, this process, 
from time of filing to the signing of the court order, may take as long as four months.  

• If there is an urgent situation that requires the actions of a Guardian/Conservator in less 
than that amount of time, or the guardian/conservator will only be needed f or a per iod of 6 
months or less, see the Self-Service Center packet for “TEMPORARY ORDERS” for 
Guardianship/Conservatorship.  

• Refer to the checklist in the Temporary Orders packet to help determine whether you need to file 
for Temporary Orders only, or in addition to “permanent” appointment of more than 6 months. 

 
ALSO NOTE:   
 

1. If the minor is at least age 17 and a half and will only need a guardian-conservator after reaching 
the age of 18, please see the Self-Service Center packet “Guardianship and Conservatorship for 
an Adult - or person at least age 17.5 years old to become effective at age 18.”  
 

2. The minor you say needs a guardian and conservator may be referred to by any of the 
following terms in the court forms or instructions: 

• “the ward”, “the proposed ward”, “the proposed protected (or “incapacitated”) person” 
• “the person* to be protected”*, or “the person* needing protection”,  
• “the person* needing a guardian and conservator”.      *or “the minor”, etc. 

  
 

INSTRUCTIONS:  HOW TO COMPLETE THE FORMS 
Fill out all forms completely and in BLACK INK. 

 
FORM 1. PROBATE INFORMATION COVER SHEET (form PB10f).     

(If two people are applying to serve as co-guardian-conservators, fill out a separate cover 
sheet for each).   

 
Fill in the information requested about: 
 the ward, the minor for whom the guardian-conservator is to be appointed,  
 the petitioner, you, the person filling out and filing these forms, and  
 the fiduciary, the person who is to serve as guardian-conservator (who is usually but not 

always the petitioner).   
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Leave “Case Number” blank.   A case number beginning with the letters “PB” will be stamped on 
the papers by the Clerk of the Court when you file the papers. Use this case number on all other 
papers you file with the court in this case. 

 

• Indicate whether an interpreter will be needed, for what language, and for whom; 
• Leave the boxes for “Reasons Fee Not Paid” blank, and 
• For “Nature of Action”, if filing for guardian and conservator, go to #240 and place a 

check next to the number 241 to indicate “for a Minor”.  
• On page 2, fill in the information about the fiduciary (the proposed guardian/conservator) and 

sign. 
 
FORM 2. PETITION FOR PERMANENT APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN and 

CONSERVATOR for a MINOR (PBGCM11f) 
 

Read carefully and provide all applicable information requested – in BLACK INK.   
If additional space is needed for any section:  

• Write “See attached” below the answer space provided, and  
• Complete the information on an at tached page w ith the same title as that section, for 

example: “Other Protective Proceedings”. 
 

At top, left: Fill in the requested information (“Your Name”, etc.) that applies to the Petitioner, the 
person filing the papers requesting appointment of a guardian and conservator.   
 
In the case caption, under “In the Matter of”, write in the name of the minor(s) for whom the 
guardian and conservator is to be appointed.  Leave “Case Number” blank.  The Clerk will stamp a 
case number on the papers when the Petition and other papers are filed with the court. 

 
1. Information about Petitioner:  Provide the information requested in the space provided 

(even if it duplicates what you filled in at top, left).  Describe your connection to the minor(s) 
for whom the guardian-conservator is to be appointed in the space provided to list your 
“interest in or relationship to” the persons to be protected. 

 
2. Information about the Minors to be protected:  Provide the requested information. Check 

the box to indicate which, if any, of the minors are legally married. 
 

3.  Information about the Proposed Guardian-Conservator:   
 

A. If the Petitioner is asking to be appointed guardian and conservator, OMIT this section 
and go to part “B”. If the Petitioner is naming someone else to serve as guardian-
conservator, provide the information as applies to that other person. 

B. Arizona law establishes a priority list of persons who may serve as guardians and 
conservators (A.R.S. § 14-5206, and § 14-5410, respectively).   Check the box(es) to indicate 
which applies to the person named to serve as guardian and conservator in the petition. If 
none of those listed apply, you may review the statutes at a law library or online at 
http://tinyurl.com/ccsdptu to determine if the proposed guardian-conservator is 
otherwise qualified.  I f so, check the box for “Other”, and briefly describe the “other 
qualification” in the space provided.   

4. Other Protective Proceedings: This refers only to other court cases involving matters of 
guardianship or conservatorship for the minors for whom protection is requested in this 
petition. Check the appropriate box. Provide the information requested about any other 
guardianship or conservatorship cases.  If additional space is needed, write “See attached” 
and complete the information on an attached page with the same title as this section, “Other 
Protective Proceedings”. 

http://tinyurl.com/ccsdptu
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5. Other Court Cases or Administrative Proceedings:  This refers to any other type of court 

case such as family court cases involving who has authority to make legal decisions for the 
minors and days and hours the minors will be with one parent or the other (“parenting time”), 
or administrative proceeding such as a CPS (Child Protective Services) hearing.  If additional 
space is needed, write “See attached” and complete the information on an attached page 
with the same title as this section. 
 

6. Assets and Income:  Check the box to indicate whether the minor(s) have income or 
assets (bank accounts, land, cash, property that can be exchanged for cash). If “yes”, list 
or describe. 

 
7. Reasons for Conservatorship:  Check the box for any statement (one or more) that 

applies.    
 

8. Disability or Incapacitation:  Check one box to answer “Yes” or “No”. If “yes”, list the 
name of any minor named in this petition who will continue to need a guardian or 
conservator after reaching the age of 18.  

 
9. Required Statements to the Court: According to Arizona law ALL THREE of these 

statements MUST be true in order for this court to have the power to appoint the person 
proposed as guardian and conservator for the minor(s) named in this petition.  If you are not 
sure all of the statements are true, you should not proceed unless advised to do so by an 
attorney licensed to practice in Arizona.   

 
10.  Attachments:  If there was not enough space to provide all the information requested for any 

section of the Petition and you listed or continued the information on an attached page, check 
this box and be sure to attach the extra pages.   

 
Read the NOTICE about who the law requires you to give notice to about your 
request for the court to appoint a guardian/conservator for the proposed protected 
person(s). 

 
11.  Persons Entitled to Notice.  In this section, list every person (or agency) legally entitled to 

receive notice of your request to have a guardian-conservator appointed for the proposed 
ward.  Arizona law, A.R.S. § 14-5405, provides that notice must be given to: 

  

1. The proposed ward’s parents (IF the ward is 14 or older, the ward too). 
2. If the proposed protected minor is married, his or her spouse. 
 

3. Any person who is serving as guardian or conservator as well as any person 
who the ward is living with or who is providing care for the ward. 

 

3.   In case no other person is notified under #1 or 2 above, notice must be given 
to at least one of the ward’s closest adult relatives if any can be found. 

 

4.   Any person who has filed a Demand for Notice with the Clerk of the Court. 
 

For more detailed information on how you are required or permitted by law to give 
Notice, refer to Self-Service Center packet #2 on “SERVICE”. 
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FORM 3. AFFIDAVIT OF PERSON TO BE APPOINTED (PBGC13f).  
• This document required by Arizona law A.R.S. §14-5106(A), must be completed by the 

proposed guardian and conservator and filed with the Petition.  The proposed guardian 
and conservator is usually, but not always, the same person as the Petitioner.  

• Read carefully, answer truthfully, and attach any required explanations as instructed.  

• If two people are nominated to serve as co-guardian-conservators, fill out a separate 
Affidavit of Person to be Appointed for each. 

 
FORM 4. CONSENT OF PARENT (with Optional WAIVER OF NOTICE) (PBGCM13f). 
   and 
FORM 5. CONSENT OF  (other) PARENT (with Optional WAIVER) (PBGCM13f). 

 
• If both parents are living and can be located, each parent may complete and sign a 

CONSENT to the appointment to be filed with the Court.   
 
• If a parent does not feel the need to receive legal notice of future court proceedings about 

this guardianship-conservatorship, he or she may optionally choose to check the box to 
Waive Notice of future filings and court proceedings.    

• If you are unable to obtain the signed consent of one or both parents, be prepared to 
show the court that you gave proper legal notice to both parents.  

• If you were unable to deliver notice to one or both parents, be prepared to inform the 
Court of what actions you took to try to deliver notice, and to show that you gave notice by 
publication (running a legal notice advertisement). See the Self Service Center packet #2 on 
“SERVICE” for detailed instructions on giving notice by publication. 

• Notice does not have to be given to a parent whose rights have been permanently 
terminated (“severed”), or who has been declared legally incompetent by a court order, but 
note that getting copies of these usually sealed orders to present to the court can be 
difficult.   

OTHER COURT DOCUMENTS IN THE #1 FORMS PACKET: 
 

• NOTICE OF HEARING (PBGC18F). AFTER you file your papers with the Clerk, you will get the 
information to fill out the Notice of Hearing, and serve the Notice along with the other required 
papers on those entitled to receive notice of this case.  See the separate “Procedures” document 
(PBCM10P) in this packet for information. 
 

• WAIVER OF NOTICE and SERVICEMEMBERS CIVIL RELIEF ACT WAIVER (PBGC19F). 
Persons entitled to notice may sign a notarized Waiver of Notice which will allow you to NOT 
have to serve notice to those persons unless they later file to reverse that waiver.  Persons 
entitled to notice who are unavailable due to active duty military service may also separately 
choose to waive rights that may exist under the Servicemembers’ Civil Relief Act that might 
delay or otherwise interfere with the court proceeding.  

 
 

These documents are not filed with the Clerk at the beginning of the case. 
 
 

NEXT:  Read and follow instructions on the separate “PROCEDURES” document (PBGCM10p) in this 
packet for what to do after you have completed these forms. 



 

PROCEDURES: WHAT TO DO AFTER COMPLETING ALL FORMS 
TO REQUEST APPOINTMENT OF PERMANENT GUARDIAN AND CONSERVATOR 

FOR A MINOR 
 

 
STEP 1. MAKE COPIES and SEPARATE INTO COMPLETE SETS as follows: 

 
 

 
Set 1: Originals for the Clerk of Court, Probate 
• Probate Information Cover Sheet      (pb10f) 
• Petition for Permanent Appointment (pbgcm11f) 
• Affidavit of Person to be Appointed (pbgc13f) 
• Consent of Parent (if applicable) (pbgcm13f) 
• Consent of (other) Parent (if applicable) (pbgcm13f) 

 

 
Set 2: Copies for Judicial Officer 
(deliver at least 5 days before the hearing) 
• Petition for Permanent Appointment 
• Affidavit of Person to be Appointed 
• Consent of Parent (if applicable) 
• Consent of (other) Parent (if applicable) 

 
 
Set 4 & More: Copies for Persons (or Agencies) to 

Receive Notice 
• Petition for Permanent Appointment 
• Affidavit of Person to be Appointed 
• Consent of Parent (if applicable) 
• Consent of (other) Parent (if applicable) 

 

 
Set 3: Copies for You 
• Petition for Permanent Appointment 
• Affidavit of Person to be Appointed 
• Consent of Parent (if applicable) 

• Consent of (other) Parent (if applicable) 

 
 
 
2. TAKE THE ORIGINALS AND ALL SETS OF COPIES TO THE CLERK TO FILE at 

any of the following Superior Court locations in Maricopa County:  
  

Phoenix: 125 West Washington Street, 1st Floor, Phoenix, Arizona 85003 
North Phoenix: 18380 North 40th Street, Phoenix, Arizona 85032 
Mesa: 222 East Javelina Avenue, 1st Floor, Mesa, Arizona 85210 

Surprise:  14264 West Tierra Buena Lane, Surprise, Arizona 85374 

  

 

 
3. PAY YOUR FILING FEE AND FILE.  
 

• A list of current fees is available from the Self Service Center and from the Clerk of 
Court’s website. 
 
 

• If you cannot afford the filing fee and/or the fee for having the papers served by the 
Sheriff or by publication, you may request a deferral (payment plan) when you file your 
papers with the Clerk of the Court.  Deferral Applications are available at no charge from 
the Self-Service Center.   
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4. GET YOUR COPIES BACK.  The Clerk will file the originals, stamp the copies with a 
case number to indicate the copies conform to (are the same as) original documents        
filed with the Court, and return the copies to you.  NOTE YOUR CASE NUMBER beginning 
with “PB” and use it on every paper you file with the court in this matter from now on. 

 
 

 
FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENT NOTICE 

 
If the proposed guardian is NOT related to the proposed ward, Arizona law A.R.S. §14-5206 
requires the guardian to submit a fingerprint card to the court for use in conducting a 
criminal background check to help the court determine that person’s suitability to act as         
a guardian of a minor. 

• The card MUST be submitted within 5 days of filing the Petition.  

• There is a fee for processing fingerprint cards. 

• The card may only be presented to Probate Court Administration at the “Old Court House” 
location at 125 W. Washington Street in downtown Phoenix.  

• FINGERPRINTING IS NOT REQUIRED IF THE GUARDIAN IS RELATED TO THE WARD.  

• See Steps 6 and 7 below for more specific information. 
 

 
 
5. GET A COURT HEARING DATE:   
  

A.  If filing in downtown Phoenix at 125 West Washington, after filing walk a few feet to the 
right from the filing counter to Probate Administration to immediately ask to schedule a 
hearing,  OR . . .   

 
B.  If filing at a court location where there is no Calendar Clerk available:   

• WAIT until 2 to 3 days after filing (so Clerk can see information in data system).  
• Call 602-506-5510 and tell the clerk you need to schedule a hearing.  
• Provide the case number.   
• The Clerk will provide you with the date, time, and location of the hearing, as well as 

the name of the Judicial Officer assigned to conduct the hearing. 
• PLEASE WRITE IT DOWN!  DON’T LOSE IT!    

 
OR . . . 

 
C.  If filing at a court location where there is no Calendar Clerk available and you do not 

want to wait the 2-3 days:  
 

• Bring your documents to the downtown Phoenix Probate Administration     
offices in-person to schedule the hearing. 
 

• Present one clerk-stamped (conformed)  copy of the following documents to 
Probate Administration:  
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 PETITION FOR APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN and CONSERVATOR for an 
Minor (PBGCM11F),   

 AFFIDAVIT OF PERSON TO BE APPOINTED (PBGC13F), 
 CONSENT OF PARENT (PBGCM13F) (if applicable) 
 CONSENT OF PARENT (PBGCM13F) (for other parent, if applicable)  

 
 

 
Probate Admin will then provide you with printed information about the time, 
date, and location of the hearing, as well as the name of the Judicial Officer 

assigned.   
 

THIS IS IMPORTANT INFORMATION.  DON’T LOSE THIS DOCUMENT! 
 

 
 

NOTE THE FOLLOWING: 
 
o If the proposed guardian-conservator is related to the proposed ward and Consent(s) 

of Parents and/or Waivers of Notice are filed for all parents or parties entitled to 
notice, the hearing may be scheduled for as little as two weeks from the date you 
request the hearing.  

o If the proposed guardian-conservator is related to the proposed ward, the hearing    
will be scheduled for approximately 4 weeks from the date you request a hearing, 
whether requested by phone or in-person.  

o If the proposed guardian-conservator is NOT related to the proposed ward, the 
hearing will be scheduled for 16 weeks from the date you submit your request, due to 
the time required for the criminal record check.   

o The hearing may be scheduled at a court facility other than the one at which the 
papers were filed. 

 
 
6. GET YOUR FINGERPRINTS TAKEN:   
 (Again) Fingerprinting is only required for a proposed guardian who is NOT related to the 

proposed ward, and the completed fingerprint card must be presented within 5 days after a 
petition for guardianship of a minor is filed. 

 
A. You may go to a government / law enforcement agency or private company to have 

your fingerprints taken, including: 
 

• Local law enforcement departments. The Maricopa County Sheriff’s Department 
and some local police departments offer this service.  Contact your local police 
department to verify whether they currently offer the service.  

 
• The Maricopa County Sheriff's Office’s ID Unit, at 201 West Jefferson Street in 

Phoenix, (West Court Building, 4th floor) does fingerprinting from 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 
p.m. Monday through Friday (except holidays). The fee is $8 per card.   
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• The Phoenix Police Department offers fingerprinting service from 8:00 a.m. – 
4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday (except holidays).  For additional information see 
the City of Phoenix’s web page or call 602-534-1127.   

 
• Numerous private companies offering fingerprinting services can be found in the 

online or printed yellow pages under “fingerprinting services”. 
 

B. Present valid photo identification or your prints will NOT be taken. 
 
C. Tell the person taking your prints that they are for a guardianship of a minor and 

pay the fee (usually $8.00-$20.00). They will take your fingerprints and give you the 
fingerprint card (usually a white card with blue lines and text) to present to the court. 

 
 

7. SUBMIT FINGERPRINT CARD TO PROBATE ADMINISTRATION and PAY FEE. 
 

• There is a fee for processing a fingerprint card 
• Verify current amount for processing a fingerprint card.  
• The card MUST be submitted within 5 days of filing the Petition.  
• The card may only be presented to Probate Court Administration at the “Old Court 

House” location at 125 W. Washington Street in downtown Phoenix (next to the 1st 
Avenue & Jefferson Street light rail station).  

 
Court Administration will help you complete the Fingerprint Card with the following  
information:  

• Court case number, (begins with “PB”)  
• Hearing Date  
• Name of the hearing officer  
• The phrase "pursuant to A.R.S. 14-5206" in the "Reason Fingerprinted" section.   

 

(Do NOT complete the "Employer and Address" section.)   
 
 

 8. SERVE NOTICE:   Fill out the Notice of Hearing form (PBGC18f) with the          
information about time and place of the hearing that you obtained in Step 5 above, and 
SERVE NOTICE to everyone who is legally entitled to know about the court case and what 
you have asked  the Court to order concerning the person to be protected. To “Serve” notice 
means to    deliver notice as required or permitted by law.  

  
 Persons entitled to notice may sign a notarized Waiver of Notice (PBGC19f), which will   

allow you to NOT serve notice to those persons, unless they later file to reverse that waiver. 
 
 
 
 
Notice can (or must) be given in different ways to different persons.  READ “INFORMATION ON 
LEGAL NOTICE” (PBGC20h) in this packet, and see Self-Service Center packet #2, “Service and 
Notice of Court Hearing” for court forms and more detailed information on serving notice. 
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READ THIS:  AFTER GIVING NOTICE TO ALL INTERESTED PERSONS:  

• Complete the Declaration of Notice stating how and when you gave notice.  
• Make two (2) copies of the:  

 NOTICE OF HEARING  
 WAIVER OF NOTICE (if any) 
 DECLARATION OF NOTICE PROVIDED 

 

• If filing in-person, do so at least 5 days before the hearing.  
• If you file the documents before the hearing, the Clerk will stamp and keep one set, and 

return the copies for you to bring with you to the hearing.   
 

• If you are MAILING these documents to the Court: 
 Make a copy before mailing to keep and bring to the hearing; 
 It is recommended that you post them 10 full days before the hearing. 
 The Probate Clerk will file the originals for you and deliver the copies to the 

Judicial Officer assigned to the hearing.   
 Remember to bring your copies of the documents to the hearing. 

 
 
 
 

 
IMPORTANT: Guardians and Conservators must complete court-approved training before 

permanent appointment!  See “Notice Regarding Training Requirements”. 
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SPECIAL HANDLING for 
 

 
CONFIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS* 

 
DOCUMENTS DEFINED OR DESIGNATED AS “CONFIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS” SHALL BE 
SUBMITTED TO THE CLERK IN SEPARATE, UN-SEALED (9”x12”) ENVELOPES.* 
   
The following documents are defined as “Confidential”: 

• Medical Reports and Records 
• Inventories and Appraisements 
• Accountings 
• Credit Reports 
• Any other document ordered by the court to be “confidential”. 

 
A separate envelope is required for each confidential document and 

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION MUST APPEAR ON THE OUTSIDE OF EACH ENVELOPE: 
 

1. Case Name and Number (“In the Matter of xxxxx” and “PB 2009xxxxxx”),   
2. Name of the document (“Annual Accounting”, “Annual Report”, “Medical Records”. etc,)  
3. Name of the party filing the document, and  
4. the words “Confidential Document” 

 
 

 
“CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION” 

in Non-CONFIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS* 
 
DOCUMENTS NOT LABELED AND SUBMITTED AS “CONFIDENTIAL” SHOULD NOT CONTAIN 
CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION,* such as: 

• the Social Security Number of a living person, and/or 
• any financial account numbers, including those for credit card, bank and brokerage 

accounts, insurance policy and annuity contract numbers, etc. as well, unless only 
the last 4 digits are displayed.  

 

The Court may order (or you may request that the Court order) that: 

 
 

1. a document containing confidential information be filed as “a confidential document”, 
 or 

2. confidential information contained in a non-confidential document be redacted (covered up 
or hidden).   
 

 
*Rule 7, Arizona Rules of Probate Procedure  
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 SELF-SERVICE CENTER 
  

HELPFUL INFORMATION ON LEGAL NOTICE FOR 
GUARDIANSHIPS AND CONSERVATORSHIPS 

 
 
 
1. WHAT IS “LEGAL NOTICE TO ALL INTERESTED PERSONS”?  
  

After you have filled out and filed the guardianship and/or conservatorship petition and      
other documents with the Court, you must inform all “interested persons” of what you have 
filed and what you have asked the court to do. Interested persons are people (or agencies) 
who have a legal right to be notified of court actions that may affect the person said to need 
the guardian or conservator.    

 

A. WHAT COURT DOCUMENTS AM I REQUIRED TO GIVE NOTICE OF? Copies 
of which documents have to be delivered according to law? 

 
1. The “Petition” explains what you want the court to do and why. 
2. The “Affidavit of Person to be Appointed” contains information about the 

person who is to serve as guardian or conservator.  
3. The “Notice of Hearing” lists the time, date, and location of the court hearing 

and the name of the Judicial Officer assigned to hear the case. 
    

After notice has been served to all those entitled to receive it and in a manner     
required or permitted by law, you must then fill out and f ile a DECLARATION OF 
NOTICE PROVIDED (see section C, below) to tell the Court who you gave notice to, 
how notice was given, what documents were provided, and when. 

  
 

B. HOW AM I ALLOWED OR REQUIRED TO GIVE LEGAL NOTICE?  
 

1. Personal Service (delivery by sheriff, private process server, or recipient signs 
an “ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE” 

 

2. Mail or Hand-Delivery (not always permitted) 
 

3. Publication (run a legal notice advertisement. This MAY be permitted if after   
all reasonable efforts you still cannot find the person or his or her address) 
 

Personal Service requires that a registered process server or the sheriff serves the 
documents on the interested persons or that those persons voluntarily sign an 
ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE form in the presence of a Notary Public or Deputy Clerk  
of Court.  Personal service is NOT required in all cases.  When personal service is 
required, it means the law is written to make sure that a person who needs notice of       
a case gets the notice.  For more detailed information on personal service, refer to #4 
below.    

 
Mail and Hand-Delivery are less formal methods of giving notice, but are not  
permitted in all cases. When you are permitted to give notice by mail, 1st class 
postage-prepaid mail is usually acceptable to the court.  Certified mail with return- receipt 
is an optional extra step you can take to prove delivery. Make sure you are allowed to 
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use mail or hand-delivery in the type of case you are involved in, and for any particular 
persons you want to give notice to by these methods. See 3C below for more 
information. 
 
Publication of Notice is used when you do not know the address of the person to  
whom you need to give notice, and after you have done everything you could to try to 
find the person you are still unable to come up with an address.  Notice is then published 
at least 3 times in a newspaper in the county where the court hearing is held.   
 
 
 

WARNING!  If the Court is not satisfied that you have made every 
reasonable effort to find an address and have the papers personally 

delivered, you may be required to take additional steps adding delay and 
expense to your case, and then have to publish again. 

 
 
 
For more detailed information on S ervice by Publication, review the 
“Procedures: How to Serve Legal Papers by Publication”, which is in the #2 
“SERVICE” packet. 

 
 
 

C.     HOW DO I SHOW THE COURT THAT I GAVE NOTICE? 
 

• Fill out and file a DECLARATION OF NOTICE PROVIDED form with the court          
to show who you gave notice to, when, and how.  Fill out this form after the documents 
have been delivered or you have otherwise served notice on all interested persons.  

    
• Submit other documents required to support the DECLARATION OF NOTICE 

PROVIDED.  Depending on method(s) of service (how Notice was given), this may 
include one or more of the following:  (an)  
1. Acceptance of Service signed by the person receiving notice, 
2. Affidavit of Publication supplied by the newspaper if serving by publication,  
3. Affidavit of Service signed by the process server or sheriff.  
   

D.     WHEN CAN I SKIP GIVING LEGAL NOTICE? 
 

1. When a person entitled or required to receive notice signs a WAIVER giving 
up the right to receive notice of court filings and proceedings in this matter.  Please 
note: If an incapacitated adult for whom the guardian or conservator is to be 
appointed signs a Waiver, he or she must attend the hearing for service to be 
valid.   

 

2. When the person to receive notice is present at the hearing and will accept 
service.  Only rely on this method if you are absolutely certain the person will be 
at the hearing and will accept service. 
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2. WHEN MUST LEGAL NOTICE BE GIVEN? WHAT TIME FRAMES?  
Generally, you must give all interested persons notice of the court papers at least 14 days 
before the hearing. If you are giving NOTICE BY PUBLICATION, the date of the first 
publication must be at least 14 days before the hearing.   

 

Note: The newspaper will provide an AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION after all 3 notices have 
been published to show proof that the ad has run. 
 
 

3. WHO ARE “INTERESTED PERSONS”?  
 
According to Arizona law (A.R.S. § 14-5309 AND 14-5405) notice must be given to: 
 

A. THE PERSON TO BE PROTECTED (incapacitated adult or a minor):  Personally 
serve the adult (or a m inor aged 14 or  over) said to need the 
guardian/conservator.  

 

 
Neither ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE nor WAIVER OF NOTICE by the person said to 

need a guardian or conservator is legal unless he or she also attends the court hearing. 
 

 

B. THE PARENTS AND SPOUSE (if applicable) of the person to be protected: 
1. Personally serve the spouse and parents if they are in Arizona; 
2. Serve by mail or hand-delivery if not in Arizona; or 
3. Serve by publication if you do not know and cannot find the address after all        
             reasonable efforts.  You will have to describe those efforts to the court. 

 

C.      OTHERS: You may give notice by mail, hand-delivery or publication to: 
1. Any adult children of the person to be protected;  

2. Any person who is serving as the guardian or conservator or who has the care 
and custody of the person to be protected;*  

3. If the person to be protected has no parent or spouse or adult children, then to 
the closest adult relative, if any can be found, AND   

4. Any person who has filed a “DEMAND FOR NOTICE” with the Court.* 
  

 * This may also include agencies such as Adult Protective Services or the VA. 
 

 
 

4. THE METHODS OF PERSONAL SERVICE:     
 
 

 
PLEASE NOTE:  “PERSONAL SERVICE” DOES NOT MEAN THAT YOU 

PERSONALLY HAND-DELIVER THE PAPERS*  
*though you MAY be able to do that if the person receiving them is willing to 

voluntarily sign an ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE as described below. 
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A. ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE: This method requires that you give or mail copies of the 
court papers and include an “Acceptance of Service” form.   The other party must sign  
the “Acceptance” in front of a Notary and return it to you, or file it with the court himself 
(herself), but it can’t be signed in advance of the date you filed the petition with the court.   

 

Signing this form does not mean the person agrees; only that he or she admits receiving 
the papers without being served in person by a Sheriff or Process Server.   

  
 

B. PROCESS SERVER: You must hire and pay a Registered Process Server yourself.  You 
may locate process servers in the commercial section of the phone book under "PROCESS 
SERVER", or online by using the search term “Arizona process servers” or similar, or at   
the web site of the Arizona Process Servers Association at: 

http://arizonaprocessservers.org/ 
 

• May offer greater flexibility in serving papers “after-hours” or on short notice. 

• Are paid directly by you, not through the court. 
• Fees may not be deferred or waived by the court. 
• Fees vary.  Compare. 

 
C. SHERIFF:  This method requires you to contact the Sheriff's Office in the county where   

the person to receive notice lives to arrange for a Sheriff's deputy to serve the papers.  This 
method requires you to pay a fee to the Sheriff's office, unless you apply for and receive     
a fee deferral or waiver.  A deferral or waiver application is available through the Court in 
the county service where notice is to be delivered for persons who cannot afford the cost. 
The Application will require you to explain why your circumstances call for service by 
sheriff.   

 
 
5. HOW DO I LET THE COURT KNOW NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN? 
 You will be f iling the “Declaration of Notice Provided” form and supporting documents 

referred to immediately above and in section “1.C.” on page 2 of this document to inform the 
court of who you gave notice to, when, and how.   

 
 
6. WHAT ELSE TO KNOW ABOUT LEGAL NOTICE:  
  

A.     AFTER “INTERESTED PERSONS” RECEIVE NOTICE, THEY MAY:  
 1.  Do nothing, if they agree with, or at least do not want to file papers or show up in 

court to disagree with your request, OR  
 2.  File a Response, if they want to:  

• Object to what the Court has been asked to order,  
• Disagree with something stated in the Petition or other court papers, or  
• Tell the Judge/Commissioner something besides what is in the Petition.   

 
Filing a Response requires payment of a filing fee, unless deferred (granted a payment plan).  
If the Response is written, copies must be delivered to all the interested parties.  The Self-
Service Center has a packet titled “Guardianship and/or Conservatorship: To Object to a 
Court Proceeding” with court forms and instructions to file a response.   

http://arizonaprocessservers.org/
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B.  AFTER “NOTICE” COMES THE HEARING.*  Carefully read and follow the directions on 
the applicable instruction and procedure documents in the #2 SERVICE packet to properly 
serve notice and to then file your proof of service with the Court.  See Self-Service Center 
packet #3, “Preparing for and Attending the Court Hearing” for court forms and   
instructions on how to complete the forms you will need to bring with you to the hearing and 
helpful information on how to otherwise prepare.  

  
 

 
*IMPORTANT: BEFORE THE HEARING the proposed guardian or conservator, if not 

a state-licensed fiduciary, must complete court-approved training. See “Important 
Notice Regarding Training Requirements” in this packet. 

 
 
 
 

C.      OTHER HELP: Court employees can answer questions about court procedures but only an 
attorney can give legal advice.  The Self-Service Center has a list of lawyers whom you can 
hire to advise you on how to handle your case yourself, or to help you on a task-by-task basis 
for a fee, and a list of mediators who may be able to help resolve disputes as well.  You will 
find both lists online at: 

www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/ssc 
 

The Probate Lawyers Assistance Project (PLAP) offers a 30-minute consultation for a low 
flat fee or free, depending on financial situation.  Consultations are by appoint-ment only, on 
Wednesdays, at the offices of the Maricopa County Bar Association at 303 East Palm Lane in 
Phoenix.  Call 602-732-2834 to schedule an appointment.  

http://www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/ssc
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IMPORTANT NOTICE  
TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

Effective September 1, 2012  
 

The Arizona Supreme Court requires that any person who is not a s tate-licensed 
fiduciary (or a financial institution) must complete a training program approved by the 
Supreme Court before Letters of Appointment to serve as a guardian, conservator, or 
personal representative can be issued by the Clerk of the Court. 
 
 

TRAINING SHOULD BE COMPLETED BEFORE THE COURT HEARING  
Additional time may be granted for good reason.  

 
You may access and complete the training FREE online at: 

www.azcourts.gov/probate/Training.aspx  
 
 

Go to the section for “Non-licensed Fiduciaries” and click on t he link to access a 
narrated slide-show presentation of the materials applicable to your situation.  
 

 
 
 
 

You may also pick up a printout of the training materials in English or Spanish 
from the Self-Service Center.  AFTER reviewing the materials, you will need to 

inform the Court that you have completed the training by filing either the 
Certificate available at the end of the online training, or the Declaration of 

Completion form available from the Self-Service Center.  If you have questions 
about the training, contact the Probate Clerk at 602-506-3668. 

 

http://www.azcourts.gov/probate/Training.aspx
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