IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF MARICOPA

IN THE MATTER OF THE PARENT ) AMENDED
EDUCATION PROGRAM ) ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER
) NO. 2013-020

WHEREAS, AR.S. § 25-351 and Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 3-
202 require the Superior Court in each county to adopt and implement an educational
program for the purpose of educating persons about the impact of divorce on adults and

children,

IT IS ORDERED as follows:

1.

The Superior Court of Arizona in Maricopa County adopts and approves the
Parent Education Plan (Attachment “A”).

The Superior Court of Arizona in Maricopa County adopts and approves the
Order and Notice to Attend Parent Education Program Class (Attachment “B")
until further order of this Court.

The party filing an initial petition for dissolution of marriage, legal separation,
or paternity in which a party has requested a determination of legal decision
making (custody), parenting time and/or support with the Court must serve
this Order and Notice on the other party. When a case is filed for any of
these purposes, the Clerk of Court will issue an Order and Notice for both the
petitioning and responding parties.

The Order and Notice to Attend Parent Education Program Class be
considered mandatory until further order of the Court. All litigants and parties
on their behalf seeking the above described relief must file and then cause to
be served the Order and Notice.

The signature of the Family Court Presiding Judge shall be electronically
placed onto the Order and Notice prior to distribution to the parties. The date
entered onto the Order and Notice shall reflect the date entered into the file
and the 45-day period for completion of the class remains from the date
Respondent is served with, or accepts service of, the Petition/Complaint.

The fee for the community-based Parent Education Program is $50.00 per
person. The fee shall be paid to the community-based providers. The
providers will be charged a fee by the Court for program completion
certificates which are available at the Self-Service Center. The certificate



fees will be transmitted to the Clerk of the Court to be deposited with the
Treasurer of Maricopa County in Fund Number 281, the Children’s Issues
Education Fund.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED terminating Administrative Orders No. 2008-104 and

96-071.
Dated this 4th day of February, 2013.
/s/ Norman J. Davis
Norman J. Davis
Presiding Judge
Original: Clerk of the Superior Court
Copies: Hon. Carey Hyatt, Family Court Presiding Judge

Family Court Judges and Commissioners

Hon. Michael K. Jeanes, Clerk of the Court

David Byers, Director, Administrative Office of the Courts
Raymond Billotte, Judicial Branch Administrator

Richard Woods, Deputy Court Administrator

Cheri Clark, Family Court Administrator
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Superior Court of Arizona
Maricopa County
Parent Education Plan

Effective January 1, 2013

The Superior Court of Arizona in Maricopa Count submit the following plan for a Parent Education
Program pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §25-351 and in accordance with the standards
outlined in Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 3-202.

A.RS. § 25-351 requires that the superior court in each county shall adopt and implement an
educational program for the purpose of educating persons about the impact of divorce on
adults and children. The plan shall be consistent with the minimum standards that are
adopted by the Supreme Court, including the length and nature of the program, the
qualifications of program providers and the means by which the program will be evaluated and
maintained. Each program shall also include information regarding the notification
requirements of A.R.S. section 25-403.05, subsection B.

In Maricopa County all parents with minor children who are going through a divorce, legal
separation, or paternity action where the Court has been asked to determine legal decision making
authority for children, parenting time, or child support shall attend an educational program about
the needs of children in these situations and the impact on them of restructuring family
relationships. In developing and providing a program or programs of education the Superior Court
in Maricopa County (subsequently referred to as the Court) provides this program through a
network of contracted community providers (subsequently referred to as provider) at locations
throughout the county through Judicial Branch of Arizona Contract Number 10004-RFQ Parent
Information Program

Length and Nature of the Program:

The class will be at least 4 hours in length. The class may be a mix of presentation styles (i.e.
lecture, video, interactive activities). The class is offered at various times, including evenings and
weekends, at locations throughout the county.

The classes address the minimum standards pursuant to A.R.S. § 25.351 as listed below:
1. The emotional, psychological, financial, physical and other short-term effects of divorce on
adults and children.
Options available as alternatives to divorce.
Resources available to improve or strengthen marriage.
The legal process of divorce and options available for mediation.
Resources available after divorce.

Al

The class will include but not be limited to education on the following topics:
e Common reactions by children and parents to divorce and separation.

e Helpful and harmful parent behaviors.
e Communication and co-parenting skills.
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e Harmful effects on children from parental conflict, including domestic violence.

e Children’s reactions to divorce and separation at different developmental stages and
warning signs of serious problems.

e Responsibility of parents to provide emotional support and financial support to children.

Factors which contribute to healthy adjustment for children including the value of

parenting plans.

e Basic Arizona family court procedures.
e [ssues surrounding continued access to maternal and paternal relatives.
e Resources in the community to obtain additional services.
e Notification requirements of A.R.S. § 25-403.05(B).
Qualifications:

At least one instructor will have a graduate degree from an accredited college or university in Child
Development, Family Life Education, Marriage and Family, Psychology, Social Work, Counseling or a
closely related field. Any additional instructors shall have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree with a
major in one the above stated or closely related field. All instructors shall have experience working
in the areas of Domestic Relations, Family Restructuring, Child Welfare, and Family Dynamics and
have training in Domestic Violence issues.

Instructors will take into account the special needs, language, and cultural needs of the students.
The program will meet the needs of parents involved in a divorce or already divorced, parents who
were never married but have a history of co-parenting, and never married parents who have little
or no history of co-parenting.

Program Operations:

The provider will make reasonable efforts to provide a comfortable and safe environment for
participants, taking into account the physical setting, comfort, safety and Americans with
Disabilities required compliance.

To allow opportunities for individual attention and the benefits of a shared learning experience the
maximum number of students in class will not to exceed 35. Participants who are adverse parties
in the same court case shall attend different classes unless both participants request in a written
notarized statement to attend the same class.

The providers will demonstrate proof of continuing professional and public liability insurance as
outlined in Judicial Branch of Arizona Contract Number 10004-RFQ Parent Information Program.

The provider will provide each participant a certificate of completion that has been obtained from
the Court. The certificate will include the case number, the date of attendance, the participant’s
name, and the name, address, and telephone number of the provider.

Providers are prohibited from soliciting participants for other services prior, during, or subsequent
to the class.
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The provider will report to the Court on a monthly basis the names, case number and date of
program completion of each individual who completed the program in the previous month. The
provider will maintain records for a period of five years from the date of program completion that
can be accessed by the participant’s name, case number, and date of program completion. The
provider will submit the following information to the Court each month:

1. The participant’s name, program completion date and case number of each
participant completing the program within that month

2. The certificate numbers issued to the participants
3. Indication of the status of the course fee

4. The participant’s case status (i.e. pre-decree, post decree, paternity, or voluntary
admission with no court case pending)

5. Number of clients who reported domestic abuse

6. Number of participants speaking English, Spanish, or requiring a Lesser Used
Language Interpreter (indicate language).

All providers will be selected by a competitive bid process conducted by the procurement
department within the Court.

Fees will be collected directly from the participants by the providers. If the Court has determined
that the participant is eligible for a fee waiver or deferral in their court case the provider shall
honor that waiver or deferral in regards to the class fee.

Program Evaluation:

The Court will conduct an evaluation of each educational program annually and provide a report to
the Administrative Office of the Court (AOC) in accordance with the minimum program evaluation
forms provided by the AOC.
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SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA
IN MARICOPA COUNTY

Case Number:

Name of Petitioner
ORDER AND NOTICE TO ATTEND

PARENT EDUCATION
PROGRAM CLASS

Name of Respondent

THIS IS AN OFFICIAL COURT ORDER. IF YOU FAIL TO OBEY THIS ORDER,
THE COURT MAY FIND YOU IN CONTEMPT OF COURT.

THE COURT FINDS:

This case involves minor child(ren) and is an action for:
[:| Dissolution of Marriage;
Ol Legal Separation; or
] Paternity with a Request to Determine Legal Decision-Making Authority (Custody) or Parenting Time
or Child Support.
] Request to Determine Legal Decision-Making Authority (Custody) or Parenting Time or Support

THE COURT ORDERS pursuant to AR.S. § 25-352:

1. ATTEND CLASS. You must attend and complete the Parent Education Program Class, or if not in
Arizona, its equivalent in your state of residence.

2. WITHIN 45 DAYS. Both the Petitioner and the Respondent must complete this class within 45 days
from the date the Respondent is served with, or accepts service of, the Petition/Complaint. The Respondent
must register for and complete the course whether or not a “Response” or “Answer” to the
Petition/Complaint is filed.

3. PAY THE CLASS FEE. Each party must pay the class fee to the Program Provider.

4. FILE CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION. Both the Petitioner and the Respondent must each file a
“Certificate of Completion” with the Clerk of the Courtimmediately after completing the class and prior to
receiving the final judgment/order/decree in the case.

5. FAILURE TO ATTEND CLASS. Ifyou file a Petition/Complaint or “Response” or “Answer” and do
not complete the Parent Education Program Class, the judge may not sign your papers and you may not
get the things you asked the court to give you. You may also be denied the right to seek modification and/or
enforcement of the decree/judgment/order until completion of the class. If you are the party required to file a
Response/Answer and choose not to file a “Response” or “Answer,” and do not complete the Parent
Education Program Class, you may be denied the right to seek modification and/or enforcement of the
decree/judgment/order until completion of the class.

Presiding Judge, Family Court Department
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Case No.

PARENT EDUCATION PROGRAM NOTICE

Parent Education Program - This is a very important document. Read it completely. You and the other
parent must attend and complete a class in the PARENT EDUCATION PROGRAM. You do NOT attend the class
with the other parent. As a precaution against any type of abuse or harassment, you and the other parent MUST
attend SEPARATE classes. You may each take the class from the same agency, but NOT at the same time. This is
NOT a parenting skills class. The purpose of the program is to give parents information about how children are
affected by matters that involve family courts: divorce, paternity, or legal decision making (custody) matters and
parenting time. This Notice applies to all parents who file any of the following actions in the Superior Court of Arizona
in Maricopa County on or after January 1, 1997:
(1) dissolution of marriage or legal separation that involves a natural or adopted minor, un-emancipated child
common to the parties, or
(2) paternity with a request that the court determine legal decision-making authority (custody) or parenting time
or child support, or
(3) any other domestic relations/family court cases if attendance is ordered by the court.

WARNING: ATTENDANCE IS REQUIRED - (A.R.S. § 25-352 and Amended Administrative Order
No. 2013-020).
ATTENDANCE AT THE PARENT EDUCATION CLASS IS REQUIRED BY LAW AND BY THIS COURT. IF
YOU DO NOT ATTEND THE CLASS, THE JUDGE MAY NOT SIGN YOUR PAPERS AND YOU MAY NOT
GET THE THINGS YOU ASKED THE COURT TO DO. THE JUDGE MAY ALSO FIND YOU IN CONTEMPT
OF COURT.

Notice to Other Party.
After you file your court papers with the Court, you must serve this document on the other parent. If you have
questions on how to serve the other party, the four Superior Court Self-Service Center locations have forms and
instructions on service:
1. Downtown Phoenix, 1st floor East Court Building, 101 West Jefferson Street:
2. Northeast Phoenix, 18380 North 40" St.; in the east valley,
3. Southeast Complex, 222 East Javelina Avenue in Mesa: and in the
4. Northwest valley 14264 West Tierra Buena Lane in Surprise.
Information can also be found on the Family Court web site at
http://www superiorcourt. maricopa.gov/superiorcourt/familycourt.

Approved Parent Education Classes in Maricopa County.
You may choose which class you want to attend. The court will not assign you to attend a specific class. If you
are led to believe otherwise, please contact Conciliation Services at (602) 506-1448. Court-approved provider
classes are available in both English and Spanish. A list of approved classes, including telephone numbers and
addresses, can be found on the Family Court web site at:

http:/iwww.superiorcourt. maricopa.gov/superiorcourt/F amilyCourt/Services/Conciliation Services/Parentinfo rmationProgram/

If you do not have a computer, you may call Conciliation Services at (602) 506-1448.

These classes meet the requirements of the Parent Education Program. You may alse choose to attend a
different class that is comparable to the classes listed. However, you will have to tell the judge why that
class is like the classes on the list of approved classes and you may have to provide all the materials from
that class and information about it to show it is comparable. It will be up to the judge to decide if that class
meets Parent Education Program requirements.

Registration (sign-up) for class.

You must sign up for the class in advance. You should sign up for the class as soon as you receive this Notice.
There may be a limit on the number of people that can attend each class. That means that YOU MUST CALL TO
SIGN UP for the class BEFORE the class is scheduled to start.
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Case No.

Information regarding the provider classes and ONLINE REGISTRATION opportunities
may be found on the Family Court website at:

http://www.superiorcourt maricopa.gov/superiorcourt/FamilyCourt/Services/ConciliationServices/ParentinformationPro
gram/

Maricopa County Approved Parent Information Program Providers

/

Center for Families AZ Priority Education
m Transition and Counseling
480-855-0075 or 480-946-9680 G02-485-1200
Egpaiiol 480-2006-3885 for English/Espaiiol
hitp: /v centerdfamilies.com http:/wwav azpee. com

\ Phoenix Interfaith Counseling /

602-971-8207
Espaiiol 602-451-4046
http:/wwaw phix-interfaith org

Cost.

(1) You are required to pay the provider of the class the fee of $50.00 (Effective 9/1/08). You must bring your
case number and a picture 1.D. to the class.

(2) If you choose a class that is not listed, you are required to pay the provider of that class the fee it charges.
The provider of the class may charge you whatever it wants.

Class procedures.
Arrive at the class a few minutes early to check in. You must check in at the class and you must check
out of the class. If you do not check in and out, your attendance may not be counted. You must bring
picture identification with you. DO NOT BRING CHILDREN TO THE CLASS. A “Certificate of
Completion” of the class will be given to you at the end of the class. After you have attended the class and
have received the “Certificate of Completion”, you must bring the certificate to the court and file it with the
Clerk of the Court. Remember to bring your case number to the class.

SPECIAL NEEDS OR ACCOMMODATIONS

If, due to a disability, language problem, or other special need, you have difficulty finding a Parent Education
Class that can accommaodate you, or if you have any questions about the Parent Education Program, please
contact Conciliation Services at 201 West Jefferson Street, third floor, Phoenix, Arizona, or telephone (602)
506-1448, when you receive this Notice for assistance.
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